Here’s How You Can Read Deleted WhatsApp Messages Someone Sent You
Sometimes we send a message and instantly regret it. The stomach-churning moment when the said recipient reads the message on WhatsApp isn’t something easy to forget.
Keeping this in mind, WhatsApp came out with a ‘delete for everyone’ feature on its platform. With this update, you can easily delete a message that you don’t want the recipient to read. However, this can only be done within 7 minutes of sending the message.
Open your WhatsApp chat and hold the message you want to delete. Press Delete for Everyone to permanently delete the WhatsApp and remove it from the recipient’s chat. Press Delete for Me to just remove the chat from your phone.
Click OK and the message will be deleted. The chat will then have the note – You deleted this message.
However, recent reports suggest that this feature has a serious flaw.
The flaw, first identified by a tech blogger, shows how to bypass WhatsApp’s ‘delete for everyone’ feature.
Suppose a message has been deleted by someone in your WhatsApp chat, the sender of the unwanted message can delete it within 7 minutes but he/she does not have the right to delete the message that has been replied to/quoted by any member of the group before seven minutes have passed.
This means that if the message that needs to be deleted, has been quoted within seven minutes, then the original message will disappear but the deleted text continues to show in the recipient’s quote. Here, quote means replying to a particular message.
This trick works on smartphones above Android 6 or Android 7.
A Spanish blogger- AndroidJefe- identified few ways through which a person can recover deleted messages.
First, one can install Notification History application from Google Play Store. After installing, open the app and look for WhatsApp icon and you will be able to see those notifications as messages.
The second way is to enter the notification log manually. Long press on your home screen and select widgets. Scroll until you find settings widget.
Pull that on your home screen. A new option will open with a slew of options to choose from, select Notification log. From now on, this setting widget will directly lead you to your notification history.
After the notification log is opened, you can see all your notification there.
However, the notification log is not present in the latest Android OS, Oero. If that is the case with you, you can use the app Unnotification for this purpose. With this app, you can un-dismiss notifications and view messages.
There are some limitations to this procedure. For starters, you can see only about the first 100 characters of the message will be visible.
Notification log saves message only for a few hours. So after a long time, messages might not be retrievable.
Only text messages can be recovered. Images or video messages, if deleted by the sender will display the usual message “This message was deleted”.