Here’s How You Can Hide Your Activity Status On Instagram
Instagram has a new feature that tells everybody when you’re “active”. The status shows up in Instagram direct messages, underneath the usernames of people you chatted with or recently tagged in Stories. You’ll also see “Seen” and “Typing…” underneath messages now.
Your active status isn’t visible to everyone. Only people you direct message *and* follow will see when you were last using Instagram. If you have a public account, and someone who doesn’t follow you sends you a DM, they won’t be able to see your active status.
However, this hasn’t been in favor with many users. An Instagram spokesperson said that users of app version 25 and newer will have the activity status. So if you’ve updated your app since December 2017, you’ll have it.
But the good news is that you can turn that active status on Instagram off. Here’s how to do it:
- Go to the Instagram app on your device and then log in to your account using the unique credentials.
- Once into your account on the Instagram simply go to your profile by clicking on the profile icon.
- Scroll down to “Show Activity Status” and slide the toggle to turn it off.
You’ll notice you won’t be able to see other users’ active statuses anymore, either. This new Instagram feature is similar to Facebook Messenger’s Active feature.